BY SENATOR PRICE

A RESOLUTION

To commend and recognize the members of the Louisiana School Boards Association and its 2025 board of directors.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana School Boards Association (LSBA) represents sixty-eight locally elected public school systems in the state of Louisiana and has a membership comprised of six hundred thirty elected school board members; and

WHEREAS, the members of the LSBA work daily to improve the education of all students enrolled in their respective school systems; and

WHEREAS, the LSBA is governed by a board of directors who are elected by their peers from among the membership of the association; and

WHEREAS, the LSBA board of directors not only serve their local communities and schools, but serve all of Louisiana's public school systems and students by giving their time to promote, support, and advocate on behalf of all of Louisiana's public school students; and

WHEREAS, it is only fitting to recognize the 2025 LSBA board of directors as follows: President Katherine Lemoine, from St. Bernard Parish; President-elect Taft Kleinpeter, from Ascension Parish; Vice President Debra Schum, from St. John the Baptist Parish; Immediate Past President Vernon Travis, from Vernon Parish; district one directors Sue Beier, from St. James Parish, and Becky Weber, from St. Charles Parish; district two directors Linda Chaney, from St. Helena Parish, and John DeFrances, from Ascension Parish; district three directors James Seaman, from Vernon Parish, and Hannah Smith-Mason, from Lafayette Parish; district four directors Veronica Tappin, from Morehouse Parish, and Aimee Dupuy, from Avoyelles Parish; district five directors Reba Phelps, from Natchitoches Parish, and Melinda Hardy, from Red River Parish; presidential appointees Brandon Harrell, from St. Tammany Parish, Dr. LaVerne Cook, from the city of Bogalusa Schools, and Brad Norris, from Iberia Parish; and the LSBA Executive Director, Dr. Janet Pope.

SR NO. 59 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and recognize the members of the Louisiana School Boards Association and its 2025 board of directors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the executive director of the Louisiana School Boards Association.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE