SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 147

BY SENATOR BARROW

A RESOLUTION

To commend each Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.

WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication, inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity; and

WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two or three times the impact of any other school factor; and

WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created to publicly honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success in school and in life; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools located in Senate District 15 are as follows:

Fraundla Washington, Baker Heights Elementary School/Park Ridge

Sandra Anthony-Grimes, Baker Middle School

Cardiss Beathley, Baker High School

Ariana Morejon, Belaire High School

April Givens, Crestworth Elementary School

Markeyda Scott, Forest Heights Academy of Excellence

Tonya Sanders, Glen Oaks Elementary School

Ryan Williams, Glen Oaks Magnet High School

Audrey Henry, Glen Oaks Magnet High School

Cai Wynn, Greenbrier Elementary School

Farrell Knighten, La Belle Aire Elementary School

SR NO. 147

ENROLLED

Tammy May-Gray, Merrydale Elementary School Kristie Chauvin, Northdale Superintendent's Academy Andrea Griffin, Northdale Superintendent's Academy Sydney Phelps, Park Forest Middle School Bridget Domino-Robinson, Progress Elementary School Naomi Doll, Rollins Place Elementary School Chiwani Perkins, Ryan Elementary School Principal Paul M. Jackson, Scotlandville Magnet High School Pamela Francis, Scotlandville Magnet High School Nikita LaCour-Dukes, Scotlandville Middle Pre-Engineering Academy Briauna Hopkins, Sharon Hills Elementary School Georgetta Lathers, Twin Oaks Elementary School Linda Goodson, Twin Oaks Elementary School Ashley Briley, Villa Del Rey Elementary School Kirk Green, Westdale Middle School Victoria Gainous, Zachary Elementary School; and

WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their students, their colleagues, and their communities.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend each Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 15 for exemplary and dedicated service on Teacher of the Year Day at the Louisiana State Capitol.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each Teacher of the Year recognized herein.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE