BY SENATOR JENKINS

A RESOLUTION

To commend DEA Task Force Officer Corporal Rickey Anderson of the Caddo Parish Sheriff's Office upon being named the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association's Deputy of the Year and to recognize his extraordinary contributions to law enforcement and the safety of the citizens of Louisiana.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State Senate proudly acknowledges individuals in law enforcement who demonstrate exceptional dedication, initiative, and commitment to justice and public safety; and

WHEREAS, Sheriff K.P. Gibson, President of the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association, along with the association's awards committee, has selected Corporal Rickey Anderson to receive the prestigious 2025 Louisiana Sheriffs' Association Deputy of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, the award recognizes a deputy sheriff who has shown unusual initiative and imagination in the performance of duty, and who has worked to improve the quality of life in their community through selfless and impactful service; and

WHEREAS, Corporal Anderson has served with distinction in the Caddo Parish Sheriff's Office for nearly 32 years, since 1993, and currently serves as a DEA Task Force Officer; and

WHEREAS, in 2021, Corporal Anderson began an in-depth investigation following a traffic stop in Shreveport which led to the arrest of Theresa Atkins and Tanner Raney, and the seizure of large quantities of methamphetamine, fentanyl, and counterfeit opioid pills that were found to contain pure fentanyl; and

WHEREAS, Atkins admitted to trafficking drugs from El Paso, Texas, and distributing them to individuals in the region, including Martin Thompson, a central figure in a much larger narcotics network; and

WHEREAS, refusing to stop at a surface-level arrest, Corporal Anderson undertook a tireless and exhaustive investigation that included analyzing cell phone records, conducting interviews, and tracing drug distribution channels throughout Northwest Louisiana; and

SR NO. 167 <u>ENROLLED</u>

WHEREAS, through his efforts, Corporal Anderson helped uncover a fentanyl trafficking ring tied to the death of Jason Grubb, who tragically overdosed in May 2021 after ingesting fentanyl pills distributed by Courtney Cox, obtained from Martin Thompson; and

WHEREAS, Corporal Anderson's work led to multiple arrests and the first-ever federal convictions in the Western District of Louisiana, and in the United States, for the distribution of fentanyl resulting in death; and

WHEREAS, five individuals were ultimately convicted and sentenced to federal prison, including Martin Thompson (20 years), Courtney Cox (10 years), Theresa Atkins (10 years), Tanner Raney (8 years), and Rachel Hassell (7 years), thanks to Corporal Anderson's leadership and persistence; and

WHEREAS, Corporal Anderson often continued the investigation on his own time, demonstrating an unwavering commitment to protecting his community and bringing justice to the victims of the opioid crisis; and

WHEREAS, his exemplary service has not only removed dangerous drugs and criminals from Louisiana streets, but has also helped set a legal precedent in the national fight against fentanyl-related deaths; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State Senate joins the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association in commending Corporal Anderson's outstanding service and congratulates him on being named the 2025 Deputy of the Year.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend DEA Task Force Officer Corporal Rickey Anderson for his nearly 32 years of distinguished service with the Caddo Parish Sheriff's Office, and does hereby recognize him as the recipient of the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association Deputy of the Year Award for 2025.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to DEA Task Force Officer Corporal Rickey Anderson.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE