BY SENATOR CLOUD

A RESOLUTION

To commend David Sickey on his election as chairman of the Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana and to recognize his dedication to transparent, community-centered leadership.

WHEREAS, the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana proudly recognizes outstanding leadership within Louisiana's Native American communities; and

WHEREAS, on June 7, 2025, David Sickey was elected chairman of the Coushatta

Tribe of Louisiana following a runoff victory that reflected strong voter turnout and
enthusiastic community engagement; and

WHEREAS, Chairman-elect Sickey brings with him eighteen years of tribal government experience, having previously served as chairman from 2017 to 2021, where he led the tribe through challenges including the COVID-19 pandemic and multiple natural disasters; and

WHEREAS, his campaign, centered around the "Leading Coushatta Forward" initiative, prioritized transparent governance, cultural preservation, and inclusive decision-making, drawing from community feedback and extensive outreach; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Sickey's plans as chairman include the establishment of quarterly community forums, Tribal Leadership Councils, and new mechanisms for ongoing feedback, all of which reflect his commitment to collaborative and responsive governance; and

WHEREAS, Chairman-elect Sickey's words on election night "Our community deserves nothing less than leadership that listens, acts with integrity, and puts tribal members at the center of every decision," embody the spirit of public service and community trust; and

SR NO. 199 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, his election represents a renewed vision of leadership and unity for the Coushatta people, grounded in tradition, accountability, and hope for the future.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend David Sickey on his election as chairman of the Coushatta Tribe of Louisiana and express its sincere congratulations and best wishes as he begins his term of service.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Chairman David Sickey.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE