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Provides that the state sales or use tax shall not apply to consumer purchases of "breastfeeding items." (gov sig)

Proposed law establishes a state sales tax exemption on purchases of specific items used to breastfeed or assist in the
breastfeeding of a baby. The statute specifically lists eligible items as breastpumps and accessories, replacement parts,
storage bags and accessories, and nursing bras.

Effective October 1, 2011.

EXPENDITURES 2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
REVENUES 2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE

Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION
There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure.

REVENUE EXPLANATION

Currently, there are no state sales tax exemptions for breastfeeding equipment. According to the Department of Revenue,
an exemption for patient aids for home use when prescribed by a physician does not apply broadly because breastfeeding
items are not typically prescribed.

According to the State Center for Health Statistics at DHH, there were an average of about 64,000 live births in Louisiana
over the last five years. The U.S. Center for Disease Control states that about 57% or 36,480 Louisiana mothers will
breastfeed at least one child. Various estimates of the average cost of breastfeeding compiled by the Fiscal Office ranged
from $544-$668, including the purchase of a breast pump along with other lower cost items. For those not purchasing a
pump, the costs range from $268-$315.

Different assumptions concerning the number of women purchasing breastpumps and the total expenditures involved can
generate different total revenue loss exposures. For example, assuming 25% of mothers purchase a pump with different
average total expenditures, the estimated amount of spending related to breast feeding is estimated at $12,996,000 (25% *
$600 * 34,680 + 75% * $275 * 34,680 = $12,996,000). At a 4% state sales tax rate, estimated state general fund exposure
would be $519,480 ($12,996,000 * 4%) or about $500,000 as a result of this measure. With the limitation on the types of
equipment being exempt, this exposure could be lower.

However, the Fiscal Office has little confidence in any particular set of assumptions. Revenue loss exposure may be more or
less than the example above. The true extent of breastpump purchases is unknown as are the purchases of the various other
items listed in the exemption.

Senate Dual Referral Rules House

_ . __:z@(’ _ b EREE e o AT
[]13.5.1 >= $100,000 Annual Fiscal Cost {S&H}[_] &-8(F)1 >= $500,000 Annual Fiscal Cost {S} T

6.8(F)2 >= $100,000 Annual SGF Cost {H&S}

|:| 13.5.2 >= $500,000 Annual Tax or Fee D 6.8(G) >= $500,000 Tax or Fee Increase
Change {S&H} or a Net Fee Decrease {S}

Gregory V. Albrecht
Chief Economist



