
Long (SB 187) Act No. 56

Prior law provided for the Cane River Heritage tax credit. Provides a credit allowed against
any Louisiana income or corporation franchise taxes for a heritage-based cottage industry
located or to be located in the Cane River Heritage Area Development Zone. Authorized the
DCRT to enter into contracts for periods not exceeding five years with a heritage-based
cottage industry in order to facilitate such tax credits. Provided that no contract shall be
granted for any exemptions or credits which are not directly related to the concern located
within the development zone, and no tax exemption or credit shall be granted for any tax or
portion of a tax applicable to operations or activities of a concern located outside of the
development zone.  Provided that applications for contracts of exemption or credit shall be
submitted to the department which shall evaluate applications to determine whether the
requirements for a contract have been satisfied. Provided that the Department of Revenue
shall aid the department in determining whether the tax information furnished by the
applicant is true and correct and the Department of Labor shall aid the department in
verifying employment data.  Provided that the tax credit shall be for an amount of up to
$1,500, which may be used against the tax liability for state income and corporation franchise
taxes related to the operations of the cottage industry within the development zone.  Provided
that the department may also enter into contracts with eligible cottage industries for a $1,500
tax credit per new employee hired during the taxable year for which the credit is claimed. In
order to qualify for this credit, the applicant must have net new hires of one full-time
employee or two part-time employees. A full-time employee is a person employed for at least
32 hours per week. A part-time employee is a person employed for at least 20 hours per
week. In order to qualify as a new hire for purposes of this credit, the employee must have
been a resident of the heritage area development zone for at least 30 days prior to
employment. The credit may be applied to any state income tax liability or any state
corporate franchise tax liability, but shall not be applied to any liabilities for penalty or
interest due or outstanding at the time the credit is generated. This credit shall be applicable
only to a position that did not previously exist in the business and that is filled by a resident
of the development zone who is performing duties in connection with the operation of the
business as a regular, full-time employee.  Provided that taxpayers who are awarded credits
in excess of their income and corporation franchise tax liability may carry forward their
unused credits for no more than ten years from the date the credit was originally awarded.

Provides for the application of credits as follows:

(1) All entities taxed as corporations for Louisiana income or corporation franchise tax
purposes shall claim any credit allowed under prior law on their corporation income
and corporation franchise tax return.

(2) Individuals shall claim any credit allowed under prior law on their individual income
tax return.

(3) Estates or trusts shall claim any credit allowed under prior law on their fiduciary
income tax returns.

(4) Entities not taxed as corporations shall claim any credit allowed under prior law on
the returns of the partners or members as follows:

(i) Corporate partners or members shall claim their share of the credit on their
corporation income or corporation franchise tax returns.

(ii) Individual partners or members shall claim their share of the credit on their
individual income tax returns.

(iii) Partners or members that are estates or trusts shall claim their share of the
credit on their fiduciary income tax returns.

Prior law provided that on and after January 1, 2012, no new applications to receive tax
exemptions or credits shall be approved by the DCRT.  However, a business which, prior to
January 1, 2012, has been approved by the DCRT to receive tax exemptions or credits shall
continue to receive such tax benefits pursuant to the terms of its agreement with the state as
long as the business retains its eligibility. New law  extends the date from January 1, 2012
to January 1, 2014.



Effective August 15, 2011.

(Amends R.S. 47:6026(E)(1))


