
Morrish (SB 73) Act No. 329 

Prior law allowed oyster harvesting in Calcasieu Lake using tongs; a hand dredge; a single
dredge with mechanical assist that has a tooth bar no more than 36 inches long; or use of a
single scraper with mechanical assist and a flat bar length of no more than 36 inches.

New law prohibits oyster harvesting in Calcasieu Lake except by special permit issued by
the DW&F and provides harvest limits for recreational fishermen on Calcasieu Lake.

New law provides that between July 1, 2011 and June 2014, oyster harvesting in Calcasieu
Lake requires a special permit issued annually by the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries.  Limits
the number of permits to 126 permits each year.  63 of the permits will be issued to a person
who can prove through trip ticket landings that he commercially harvested oysters from
Calcasieu Lake any time since January 1, 2001.  The remaining 63 permits may be issued
to any person.  

New law provides that the permits will be issued on a first-come-first-served basis
determined by the date the application is received by the department.  Further provides that
once 126 permits have been issued, there shall be no more issued that year.  The commission
shall promulgate rules to delineate the procedures by which the permits shall be issued.

Prior law set the season for oyster harvesting in Calcasieu Lake beginning between Oct. 15th

and Nov. 1st each year and ending April 30th.  Authorized the commission, with input from
the Louisiana Oyster Task Force, to open or close the season based on biological data and
to manage East Cove and West Cover separately.  New law changes the advising body from
the Louisiana Oyster Task Force to the Calcasieu Oyster Task Force.

Prior law allowed the commission to set the harvest limit not to exceed 25 sacks of oysters
per day per licensed vessel after consideration of recommendations by the Louisiana Oyster
Task Force.  Further allowed recreational fishermen to harvest oysters.

New law authorizes the commission to set the harvest limit, after consultation with the
Calcasieu Oyster Task Force so that each permittee may harvest up to 25 sacks per day from
one, and only one, licensed vessel.  Further provides that one and only one permittee may
harvest from each licensed vessel per day and no vessel shall be used for more than one trip
per day.  Sets the harvest limit for recreational fishermen to 1 sack per person per day.

Prior law provided that any violation of the prior law will be a class 4 violation subject to
the penalties contained in R.S. 56:34.

New law changes prior law and provides that a violation of any provision of this law or of
any W&F Commission regulation pertaining to taking, possessing, recording or reporting
of landings or selling oysters from Calcasieu Lake will constitute a Class 4 violation.  In
addition, the offender will also be penalized as follows:

(1) 1st offense - the offender shall forfeit any permit to harvest for oysters on Calcasieu
Lake and be barred from obtaining such permit for the remainder of the period for
which it was issued plus 1 year, during which time the offender will be barred from
participating in any oyster harvesting activity on Calcasieu Lake.

(2) 2nd offense, the offender shall forfeit any Calcasieu Lake oyster permit issued to him
and be barred from obtaining a Calcasieu Lake oyster permit for the remainder of the
period for which it was issued plus 2 years, during which time the offender shall be
barred from participating in any oyster harvesting activity on Calcasieu Lake.

(3) 3rd offense, the offender shall forfeit any Calcasieu Lake oyster permit issued to him
and be permanently barred from obtaining a Calcasieu Lake oyster permit and from
participating in any oyster harvesting activity on Calcasieu Lake.

New law provides that any person who participates in the fishery while barred will be
penalized under the provisions of a Class 7-B violation.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 56:435.1.1)


