Cheek (SB 232) Act No. 318

Prior law, relative to sex offenders, provided for areduction of the registration period if the
offender maintains a clean record for 10 years upon petition to be relieved of the sex
offender registration to the court of conviction for those convicted in Louisiana.

New law maintains prior law and provides that the petition seeking relief from registration
be accompanied by a certification from the office of state police of the offender's history of
registration in Louisiana

Prior law provided that the district attorney shall be served with a copy of the petition.

New law maintains prior law and requires that the Department of Public Safety and
Corrections, office of state police and Department of Justice be given notice of the filing
with a copy of the pleading.

New law createsthe L ouisiana Sexual Assault Task Force within the Department of Justice.
Providesthat thetask force shall consist of 25 members and the attorney general shall serve
as chairman. Providesfor alisting of issues for study by the task force, including but not
limited to investigation issues, procedures used in obtaining and analyzing sexual assault
evidence, and training requirementsfor law enforcement officersand othersin sexual assault
cases. Requiresthe task force to report its findings and recommendations to the governor,
Senate president, and House speaker not later than December 31, 2012.

New law provides that the task force shall terminate 60 days after its report of findings has
been submitted.

Effective June 28, 2011.

(Amends R.S. 15:544 (D)(1), (2), (3)(e), (4)(a) and (b); Adds R.S. 15:555 and 556)



