
Pope (HB 593) Act No. 324

Existing law requires the purchase of a basic hunting license in order to hunt in the state of
Louisiana.  Further requires additional licenses for hunting deer, turkey, or migratory
waterfowl.  Provides for resident fees and nonresident fees for such licenses.

Existing law authorizes a nonresident student enrolled full-time in La. colleges to obtain
hunting licenses for the cost of  resident licenses.  Requires verification of enrollment status
and possession of a student identification card while hunting.

New law provides the same authorization and requirements for a nonresident student enrolled
full-time or part-time in a Louisiana high school.  Fees would be reduced as follows:

Duck license from $   25 to $   5.50
Wild turkey from $   25 to $   5.50
Basic hunting from $ 200 to $ 15
Big game from $ 250 to $ 15
Primitive firearms from $   50 to $ 10.50

Effective August 1, 2013.

(Amends R.S. 56:104(A)(9))


