## Ortego (HB 334)

<u>New law</u> requires the secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections to establish a special prestige motor vehicle license plate to be known as the "Louisiana Cultural Economy" plate, provided there is a minimum of 1,000 applicants for such plate. This license plate is restricted to passenger cars, pickup trucks, recreational vehicles, and vans.

<u>New law</u> specifies that the color and design of the plate will be selected by the Board of Directors of the La. Cultural Economy Foundation.

<u>New law</u> provides that the prestige license plate shall be issued, upon application, to any citizens of La. in the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plate.

<u>Proposed law</u> establishes a royalty fee of \$25 for the "Louisiana Cultural Economy Foundation" license plate, authorizes a handling fee of \$3.50 to be retained by the department, and specifies that the recipient of the royalty fees shall be the La. Cultural Economy Foundation.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the secretary to adopt rules and regulations to implement the provisions provided in <u>proposed law</u>.

Effective August 1, 2013.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.160)