Price (HB 291)

Existing law provides for an Advisory Committee on Equal Opportunity within the Dept. of Insurance.

Prior law provided for this committee to consist of 22 gubernatorially appointed members.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that members of the committee shall serve without compensation, except for compensation for mileage and meals incurred in the connection with the attendance of committee meetings or committee business.

<u>New law</u> provides for a total of 25 committee members and defines a quorum as a simple majority of members appointed, with no fewer than ten members present.

<u>New law provides that the deputy commissioner for minority affairs will serve as chairperson</u> of the committee.

<u>Prior law</u> provided a list of groups and associations that will each be responsible for nominating one person to be considered for appointment to the committee. Further provided that the governor's choice of appointees shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

<u>New law</u> makes changes to the list of associations responsible for nominating persons to the committee, removing the Health Insurance Association of America, the National Independent Insurance Agents, and the National Business League, and adding the La. Association of Health Plans, the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of La., the Monroe chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the Greater Southwest La. Black Chamber of Commerce.

<u>New law</u> clarifies that compensation for mileage, meals, and necessary lodging expenses incurred in connection with meeting attendance shall be provided to committee members.

Effective August 1, 2013.

(Amends R.S. 22:32(A)(1)(intro. para.), (i), (l), and (n) and (3); Adds R.S. 22:32(A)(1)(r) and (4))