The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Christopher D. Adams.

DIGEST

Heitmeier (SB 496)

Present law provides no prescription for a Schedule II substance may be refilled.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides a Schedule II prescription may not be filled more than 90 days after the date of the prescription.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides a pharmacist shall not dispense any Schedule II controlled dangerous substance upon a prescription of a prescriber who is not licensed by the state of Louisiana.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides a prescriber shall access the Prescription Monitoring Program prior to initially prescribing any Schedule II controlled dangerous substance to a patient for the treatment of non-cancer-related chronic or intractable pain.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 40:978(A); adds R.S. 40:978(E) and (F))

Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Health and Welfare to the original bill

- 1. Deletes the provisions prohibiting prescription for any controlled substance being issued for more than 120 dosage units or a 30-day supply of the maximum total daily dosage and the provision prohibiting more than three controlled substance prescriptions issued for a patient by a licensed practitioner during the same 30-day period.
- 2. Provides a pharmacist not dispense any Schedule II controlled dangerous substance upon a prescription of a prescriber who is not licensed by the state of Louisiana and a prescriber access the Prescription Monitoring Program prior to initially prescribing any Schedule II controlled dangerous substance to a patient for the treatment of non-cancer-related chronic or intractable pain.