Walsworth (SB 168)

<u>Prior law</u> created the La. Public Defender Board. The board has 15 members, plus two ex officio, nonvoting members.

Prior law required appointment of board members as follows:

- (1) The governor appoints two members.
- (2) The chief justice of the La. Supreme Court appoints two members; one member shall be a juvenile justice advocate; the other shall be a retired judge with criminal law experience.
- (3) The Senate president and the House speaker each appoint one member.
- (4) The governor appoints one member representing the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center who is an active employee, retired employee or has an academic association with the center.
- (5) The governor appoints one member representing the Loyola University School of Law who is an active employee, retired employee or has an academic association with the school.
- (6) The governor appoints one member representing the Southern University Law Center who is an active employee, retired employee or has an academic association with the center.
- (7) The governor appoints one member representing the Tulane University School of Law who is an active employee, retired employee or has an academic association with the school.
- (8) The president of the La. State Bar Association appoints two members.
- (9) The president of the La. Chapter of the Louis A. Martinet Society appoints one member.
- (10) The chairman of the La. State Law Institute's Children Code Committee appoints one member.
- (11) The executive director of the La. Interchurch Conference appoints one member.

<u>Prior law</u> provided for the appointment of two ex officio, nonvoting members by the La. Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and the La. Public Defender's Association.

<u>New law</u> provides that when a vacancy occurs, the board staff shall submit to the appointment entity a list identifying the residency of the current board members by congressional district, and request that, to the extent possible, the entity make their appointments from the residents of under-represented districts.

Effective August 1, 2014.

(Adds R.S. 15:146(A)(5))