Anders (HB 905) Act No. 207

Changes the boundaries of the Black River Lake Recreation and Water Conservation District and the composition of the board.

Prior law (R.S. 38:3087.112) provided that the district be comprised of that part of Concordia and Catahoula parishes bounded by the following description: Begin at the intersection of the centerline of a parish gravel road commonly known as Bodark Lane with LA Hwy 600; thence southeasterly and easterly along the centerline of Bodark Lane to the intersection with the centerline of Deadin Road, a parish gravel road; thence south and southeasterly along Deadin Road to the intersection with the centerline of LA 906; thence southeasterly along the centerline of LA Hwy 906 to the intersection with the centerline of LA 129; thence southerly and westerly along the centerline of LA 129 to the intersection with the centerline of LA Hwy 907; thence northwesterly along the centerline of LA Hwy 907 to the intersection with the centerline of LA Hwy 908; thence southwesterly and westerly along the centerline of LA Hwy 908 and the extension thereof to the intersection with the Black River mainline levee; thence northerly and westerly along the centerline of said levee to the intersection with the northwesterly extension of the centerline of Bodark Road; thence southeasterly to the point of beginning.

<u>New law</u> provides that the district is comprised of all of Concordia Parish, specifically including precincts 4-6, 5-3, 5-4, 5-5, 5-6, and 5-7.

<u>Prior law</u> (R.S. 38:3087.114) provides that the district shall be governed and controlled by a board of six commissioners, each of whom shall be a qualified elector of the state of La., owning property within the district. Further, provides that two members shall be appointed by the governing authority of Concordia Parish, two members shall be appointed by the governing authority of Catahoula Parish, and two members shall be appointed by the legislative delegation from the area which comprises the district.

<u>New law</u> changes the number of commissioners <u>from</u> six <u>to</u> three and specifies that each appointee must reside in or own property in the district. Further provides that two members be appointed by the legislative delegation representing Concordia Parish, and one member be appointed by the governing authority of Concordia Parish.

Effective Aug. 1, 2014.

(Amends R.S. 38:3087.112 and 3087.114(A))