<u>Existing law</u> requires the annual, formal evaluation of every public school teacher and administrator through the professional employee evaluation program.

<u>Prior law</u> required the State Bd. of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) to require the state superintendent of education to appoint and convene an Educator Evaluation Advisory Committee (EEAC). Required the EEAC to make recommendations to BESE and the House and Senate education committees by April 30, 2012, regarding the development of a value-added assessment model (commonly known as VAM), identification of measures of student growth for grades and subjects for which value-added data were not available and for personnel for whom value-added data were not available, and adoption of standards of effectiveness.

New law requires BESE to require the Accountability Commission, which was established by BESE, to convene an advisory subcommittee of the commission. Requires the subcommittee to report on and make recommendations regarding the overall effectiveness of the evaluation program, including but not limited to any recommendations for changes to BESE policy or existing law relative to VAM, growth measures, elements of evaluation, and standards for effectiveness. Requires the subcommittee to hold its first meeting by Sept. 30, 2014, and to submit its initial report by not later than 60 days prior to the 2015 R.S. Requires a subsequent report by not later than 60 days prior to the 2016 R.S.

<u>Prior law</u> required the following membership for the EEAC: at least 50% practicing classroom educators; at least two parents of public school students; two members of each legislative education committee appointed by the respective chairmen; one member appointed by each BESE member; and one member appointed by the Associated Professional Educators of La., La. Assoc. of Educators, La. Federation of Teachers, La. Assoc. of School Superintendents, La. Assoc. of Principals, and La. Assoc. of Public Charter Schools.

<u>New law</u> requires the Accountability Commission subcommittee to have the following members:

- (1) One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the House speaker.
- (2) One member of the Senate appointed by the Senate president.
- (3) At least six members who are public school teachers; requires the House speaker and Senate president to each appoint three teachers and collaborate to ensure that the following requirements are met:
 - (a) Two shall teach grades three, four, or five; two shall teach grades six, seven, or eight; and two shall teach grades nine, 10, 11, or 12.
 - (b) All shall teach subjects for which value-added data are available.
 - (c) One shall be appointed from each congressional district of the state.
- (4) Each member of the Accountability Commission.

<u>Prior law</u> provided for the EEAC members to serve without compensation. <u>New law</u> provides for the Accountability Commission subcommittee members to serve without compensation.

Effective Aug. 1, 2014.

(Amends R.S. 17:3883(A)(6))