The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Thomas L. Tyler.

DIGEST 2015 Regular Session

Buffington

<u>Present law</u>, relative to colleges and universities, provides that except as otherwise specifically provided in law, <u>present law</u> applies in the same manner and to the same extent to the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, the Board of Supervisors of Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, the Board of Supervisors of the University of Louisiana System, the Board of Supervisors of Community and Technical Colleges, and any other board vested with the supervision and management of institutions of postsecondary education hereafter created.

<u>Present law</u> provides that a student, faculty member, or other employee of an institution of higher education transferred from another management board to the Board of Supervisors of Community and Technical Colleges retains all previously earned benefits provided by law, rule, or regulation and shall continue to earn such benefits as provided by law, rule, or regulation prior to the transfer and, if otherwise qualified, shall be eligible for any additional benefits as may be provided for such student, faculty member, or other employee by law, rule, or regulation.

Proposed law makes technical changes, but otherwise retains present law.

Present law provides for definitions as follows:

SB 65 Original

- (1) "Board" or "boards" means the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, the Board of Supervisors of Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, and the Board of Supervisors of Community and Technical Colleges, or any of these boards.
- (2) "Community college" means any postsecondary institution which offers an associate academic degree as well as vocational-technical and other educational programs, but which is not approved to offer a baccalaureate degree.
- (3) "Postsecondary education system" or "system" means and refers to the programs and institutions under the jurisdiction of the respective management boards for postsecondary education created by or under authority of the Constitution of Louisiana.

<u>Proposed law</u> clarifies that the definitions includes words and phrases, but otherwise retains <u>present</u> law.

Present law enumerates the institutions included in the L. S. U. system as:

(1) Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, located at Baton Rouge

and designated as the premier flagship university for the state.

- (2) Louisiana State University at Alexandria, located at Chambers.
- (3) Louisiana State University at Eunice.
- (4) Louisiana State University at Shreveport.
- (5) Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at New Orleans, which shall include medical and related health schools and programs located in New Orleans including those state's medical centers transferred to the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College as provided in Subpart C-2 of Part II of Chapter 4 of this Title, subject to provisions of R.S. 17:1519 et seq.
- (6) The Center for Agricultural Sciences and Rural Development which administers the agricultural extension and research programs of the board throughout the state. The center shall also be responsible for conducting river water research.
- (7) Any other college, university, school, institution, or program now or hereafter under the supervision and management of the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College board.

<u>Proposed law</u> makes technical changes and removes the listing of medical centers, but otherwise retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law provides that the institutions included in the L. S. U. system includes the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport, which shall include the medical school and related schools at Shreveport, Louisiana State University Hospital at Shreveport, E. A. Conway Medical Center at Monroe, and Huey P. Long Medical Center in Pineville.</u>

<u>Proposed law</u> retains this provision but provides that the system include the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center at Shreveport, which shall include the medical school and related schools at Shreveport but excludes specific reference to the Louisiana State University Hospital at Shreveport, E. A. Conway Medical Center at Monroe, and Huey P. Long Medical Center in Pineville.

<u>Present law</u> enumerates the institutions within the University of Louisiana System.

<u>Proposed law</u> makes technical changes, but otherwise retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the corporate authority, internal and otherwise, vested in the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, the Board of Supervisors of Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College, the Board of Supervisors of Community and Technical Colleges, to supervise and manage the systems under the jurisdiction of each, extends to all the colleges and universities, branches, centers of learning, or

extensions of such systems now existing or hereafter established.

<u>Proposed law</u> extends board authority to colleges and universities, branches, centers of learning, or extensions which are transferred into the system, but otherwise retains <u>present law</u>.

Effective August 1, 2015.

(Amends R.S. 17:3201, 3202, 3215, 3217(intro para), and 3218)