DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 445 Original

2015 Regular Session

Mack

Abstract: Provides relative to requirements for public tag agents and public tag agent applicants.

<u>Present law</u> authorizes the commissioner to establish a system of public license tag agents to collect the registration license taxes. Specifies that the system is to consist of municipal and parish governing authorities or new motor vehicle dealers or their agents as well as authorized auto title companies.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires persons, natural or juridical, except those included in the system established pursuant to <u>present law</u> to collect registration license taxes.

<u>Present law</u> requires each public license tag agent other than a municipal governing authority to execute a good and sufficient surety bond with a surety company qualified to do business in Louisiana as surety, in a sum of not less than \$10,000 nor more than \$100,000. Specifies that a public license tag agent with multiple locations only has to furnish a single \$10,000 surety bond in addition to any other bonds required by law.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes <u>present law</u> surety requirements and instead requires each public license tag agent other than a municipal governing authority to execute a good and sufficient surety bond with a surety company qualified to do business in Louisiana as surety, in a sum of \$50,000 should the public tag agent have only one office in this state and in a sum of \$75,000 should the public tag agent have more than one office in this state.

<u>Proposed law</u> prohibits a person who has been found guilty of violating any rule and regulation promulgated by the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections, public safety services, (DPS&C) pertaining to the issuance of motor vehicle titles, registration, or driver's licenses within the two year period prior to the date of application from becoming a public tag agent.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the DPS&C to revoke the license of a public tag agent for repeatedly violating rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to this Section. Requires the DPS&C to promulgate rules and regulations pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act to implement the provisions of proposed law.

(Amends R.S. 47:532.1(A)(1), (3)(a), (6), and (B))