SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 11

BY SENATORS MORRELL AND PETERSON AND REPRESENTATIVES ADAMS, WESLEY BISHOP, GISCLAIR AND PATRICK WILLIAMS

A RESOLUTION

To create a task force to study the postsecondary education disciplinary process for campus rape and sexual assault.

WHEREAS, according to a United States Justice Department special report issued in December of 2014, females within the eighteen to twenty-four year age group had the highest rate of rape and sexual assault victimizations for the study period from 1995 through 2013; and

WHEREAS, rape and sexual assault victimizations of students were more likely than nonstudent victimizations to go unreported to police; and

WHEREAS, eighty percent of the offenders were known to the victim prior to the rape or sexual assault; and

WHEREAS, more than forty percent of schools in a national survey have not conducted a single rape or sexual assault investigation in the last five years; and

WHEREAS, more than seventy percent of the schools in a national survey do not have protocols regarding how the institution and local law enforcement should work together to respond to sexual violence; and

WHEREAS, the state of Louisiana and its citizens have an interest in the prevention of rape and sexual assault on its college campuses, as well as the disciplinary process for rape and sexual assault.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby create a task force to study the postsecondary education disciplinary process for campus rape and sexual assault.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall consist of the following members:

(1) One member of the Louisiana Senate appointed by the president.

(2) One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker.

(3) One student member appointed by the student representative of the Board of Regents.

(4) One member appointed by the board of directors of the Louisiana Foundation Against Sexual Assault.

(5) One member appointed by the board of directors of the Sexual Trauma Awareness and Response Center.

(6) One member appointed by the board of directors of Louisiana Progress.

(7) One member appointed by the board of directors of the Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.

(8) The executive director of the office on women's policy of the Department of Children and Family Services, or his designee.

(9) One member appointed by the Board of Regents.

(10) One member appointed by the Louisiana State University Board of Supervisors.

(11) One member appointed by the Southern University Board of Supervisors.

(12) One member appointed by the University of Louisiana System Board of Supervisors.

(13) One member appointed by the Louisiana Community and Technical College Board of Supervisors.

(14) One member appointed by the board of directors of the Louisiana District Attorney's Association.

(15) One member who is a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program Director appointed by the president of the Senate.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the member of the Louisiana Senate appointed by the president shall serve as chair of the task force.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that members of the task force shall serve without compensation, except per diem or expense reimbursement to which they may be individually entitled as members of their constituent organizations.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall report its findings to the

SR NO. 11

Senate Committee on Education and the Board of Regents no later than January 8, 2016.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the persons or organizations with appointing authority for the task force.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE