2015 Regular Session

Mills

Directs the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board to create the Physical Therapy Patient Access Review Committee which shall include the following members:

- (1) The commissioner of the Department of Insurance or his designee.
- (2) The president of the Senate or his designee.
- (3) The speaker of the House of Representatives or his designee.
- (4) The secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals or his designee.
- (5) The executive director of the La. Physical Therapy Board or his designee.
- (6) The executive director of the La. State Board of Medical Examiners or his designee.
- (7) The executive director of the La. State Board of Chiropractic Examiners or his designee.
- (8) The president of the La. Physical Therapy Association or his designee.
- (9) The chief executive officer of the La. State Medical Society or his designee.
- (10) The chief executive officer of the La. Association of Health Plans or his designee.
- (11) The assistant chief of physical therapy services at Bayne-Jones Army Community Hospital and captain of the U.S. Army or his designee.
- (12) The dean of LSU Health Sciences Center School of Allied Health Professionals, New Orleans, or his designee.
- (13) The dean of LSU Health Shreveport School of Allied Health Professions or his designee.
- (14) The president of the La. Orthopaedic Association or his designee.
- (15) The president of the American Physical Therapy Association or his designee.
- (16) The president of the Private Practice Section of the American Physical Therapy Association or his designee.
- (17) The president of the Health Policy and Administration Section of the American Physical Therapy Association or his designee.
- (18) The president of the Acupuncture Association of La. or his designee.
- (19) The executive director of the Chiropractic Association of Louisiana or his designee.
- (20) The president of the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy or his designee.
- (21) The president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapists or his designee.
- (22) An individual designated by the Coalition for Patients' Rights.
- (23) An individual designated by Evidence in Motion.
- (24) The president of the La. Athletic Trainers' Association, Inc. or his designee.
- (25) The president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons or his designee.

Provides that the executive director of the La. Physical Therapy Board or his designee shall serve as the chairperson of the committee. Requires first meeting on or before September 1, 2015.

Requires report to the legislature no later than January 15, 2016, at which time the committee shall terminate.