RESUME DIGEST
ACT 255 (SB 113) 2015 Regular Session Gallot

Prior law provided for membership of the State Board of Examiners of Psychologists
("board").

Prior law provided that each board member shall have rendered service, teaching, training,
or research in psychology for at least five years, shall have held a doctoral degree in
psychology from a school or college for a period of five years, and shall be licensed as a
psychologist in Louisiana.

New law provides each board member shall have rendered service, teaching, training, or
research in psychology for at least five years, shall have held a doctoral degree in psychology
from a school or college for a period of five years, and shall be licensed as a psychologist in
Louisiana for a minimum of five years.

New law provides that no person shall be eligible to serve as a board member if he is
employed by the board, has a contract with the board for services, or within the preceding
12 months of his nomination, was employed by the board or had a contract with the board
for services.

Prior law classified certain licensees as psychologist emeritus if certain qualifications are met
and provides that a psychologist emeritus is eligible for a reduction in the annual renewal fee.

New law removes the psychologist emeritus status classification and provides that a licensed
psychologist who is 65 years of age or older may be eligible for a reduction in the annual
renewal fee if he meets certain qualifications.

Prior law provided that the board must maintain certain records for a period of two years.

New law removes the two year retention period and provides that the board must maintain
certain records in electronic or other format.

Prior law provided that any nonresident duly licensed or certified for independent practice
as a psychologist in the state of his residence, and which state will permit residents of this
state a like and similar privilege as provided herein, may, if associated with a psychologist
who is a resident of the state and licensed under the prior law, practice as a psychologist for
a period not to exceed 30 days in any calendar year to the same extent and manner as if
licensed in this state.

New law provides that any nonresident duly licensed or certified for independent practice as
a psychologist in the state of his residence, and which state will permit residents of this state
a like and similar privilege as provided herein, may, if an application is submitted to the
board with payment of the appropriate fee, practice as a psychologist for a maximum of 30
days throughout a calendar year to the same extent and manner as if licensed in this state

Effective August 1, 2015.

(Amends R.S. 37:2353(A)(3), (4), (5) and (6), 2354(E), 2356(G), and 2365(D); adds R.S.
37:2353(A)(7))



