RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 189 (HB 174)

2015 Regular Session

LeBas

<u>Existing law</u> provides for the designation of controlled dangerous substances into Schedules I, II, III, IV, and V based upon the substances' potential for addiction and abuse.

New law adds two substances to Schedule IV.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that hydrocodone was a Schedule II drug, but was a Schedule III drug when found in combination with other substances.

<u>New law</u> repeals the Schedule III classification for hydrocodone combination products to make La. law consistent with federal scheduling classifications.

Existing law provides that a pharmacist cannot dispense more than a 10-day supply at a dosage not to exceed the FDA's approved labeling for the medication if the prescriber for such medication is not licensed by the state of Louisiana, and the medication is an opioid derivative Schedule II or Schedule III controlled dangerous substance. Existing law further provides that the dispensing pharmacist must notify the prescriber of the supply dispensed and the cancellation of the remainder of the prescription. Existing law further provides that within 60 days of the dispensing of a medication pursuant to existing law, such medication cannot be dispensed again for the individual by a prescriber not licensed by the state of Louisiana.

<u>New law</u> adds that restrictions of <u>existing law</u> regarding the dispensing of Schedule II and Schedule III opioids do not apply if the prescription monitoring information from the state of the prescriber may be viewed by the dispensing pharmacist.

Effective June 23, 2015.

(Amends R.S. 40:978(E); Adds R.S. 40:964(Schedule IV)(A)(3) and (B)(45.5); Repeals R.S. 40:964(Schedule III)(D)(1)(c) and (d))