ACT 374 (HB 76)

2015 Regular Session

Alfred Williams

<u>Existing law</u> provides for the City Court of Baton Rouge, domiciled in Baton Rouge and having five city judges and a city constable. Provides that the court is divided into five divisions, "A", "B", "C", "D", and "E" and its territorial jurisdiction shall extend throughout the territorial area of the city of Baton Rouge as extended from time to time. Provides for the purpose of electing judges, the court is divided into two election sections.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that two judges (divisions "B" and "D") were elected from election section one and three judges (divisions "A", "C", and "E") were elected from election section two.

New law changes the composition of election section one and election section two. Provides that two judges (divisions "B" and "D") are elected from election section one and two judges (divisions "A" and "E") are elected from election section two. Further, new law provides that one judge (division "C") shall be elected from the entire territorial area of the city of Baton Rouge at large. New law specifies that in addition to qualifications provided by law for a judge of the Baton Rouge City Court, a candidate for a judgeship elected by either election section need only be a resident of the city of Baton Rouge and that the provisions of new law shall not be construed in any manner to decrease the term of any judge serving on the effective date of new law or to prohibit any judge from seeking reelection in any division of the court.

<u>Prior law</u> allowed the metropolitan council for the city of Baton Rouge, parish of East Baton Rouge, to assign annexations which were approved subsequent to June 15, 1993, to the appropriate election section.

<u>New law</u> allows the metropolitan council for the city of Baton Rouge, parish of East Baton Rouge, to assign annexations which are approved subsequent to October 22, 2014, to the appropriate election section.

Existing law requires the metropolitan council to submit such assignment by certified mail or by hand delivery with receipt to the Senate Committee on Senate and Governmental Affairs and the House Committee on House and Governmental Affairs for approval. Provides that the committees have 45 days to determine, either jointly or separately, whether the assignment shall be approved or disapproved. Specifies that if the time period for action by the committees lapses without action by such committees, the assignment is deemed approved, and if one or both committees disapprove the assignment, such assignment is not effective for any purpose.

<u>New law</u> specifies that precincts referenced in district descriptions in <u>new law</u> are those contained in the file named "2014 Precinct Shapefiles" published on the La. House of Representatives website. Specifies that the 2014 Precinct Shapefiles are based upon those Voting Districts (VTDs) contained in the 2010 Census Redistricting TIGER/Line Shapefiles for the state of La. as those files have been modified by the staff of the legislature to represent precinct changes submitted through Aug. 13, 2014, to the legislature by parish governing authorities pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 18:532 and 532.1.

New law additionally provides that when a precinct is subdivided on a nongeographic or geographic basis under existing law (R.S. 18:532.1), the general precinct designation in the district description includes all nongeographic and geographic subdivisions of the precinct within the corporate limits of Baton Rouge, and specifies that the territorial limits of the election sections as provided in new law shall continue in effect without change regardless of any changes made to the precincts by the parish governing authority. Specifically excepts changes to the territorial limits made as provided in new law relative to annexations.

Effective upon signature of governor (July 1, 2015).

(Amends R.S. 13:1952(4))