2016 Regular Session

HOUSE BILL NO. 561

BY REPRESENTATIVE PUGH

DISTRICTS/SPECIAL: Provides relative to membership in the Zachary Taylor Parkway District and Commission

1	AN ACT		
2	To amend and reenact R.S. 48:1801(3) and 1804(A), relative to the Zachary Taylor Parkway		
3	District; to provide relative to membership in the district and on the commission; and		
4	to provide for related matters.		
5	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:		
6	Section 1. R.S. 48:1801(3) and 1804(A) are hereby amended and reenacted to read		
7	as follows:		
8	§1801. Definitions		
9	For purposes of this Chapter, the following words have the meanings ascribed		
10	to them by this Section, except where the context clearly indicates otherwise:		
11	* * *		
12	(3) "District" means the Zachary Taylor Parkway District, which is		
13	comprised of the parishes of Avoyelles, East Feliciana, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St.		
14	Helena, Tangipahoa, Washington, and West Feliciana. , and of that portion of the		
15	parish of Tangipahoa which lies north of Louisiana Highway 40.		
16	* * *		
17	§1804. Creation of district and commission; powers		
18	A. There is hereby created the Zachary Taylor Parkway District, subject to		
19	the conditions hereinafter set forth, which shall be a body politic and corporate and		
20	a political subdivision of the state of Louisiana comprising all of the territory within		

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

the geographical boundaries of the parishes of Avoyelles, East Feliciana, Pointe
Coupee, Rapides, St. Helena, <u>Tangipahoa</u>, Washington, and West Feliciana. ;
together with all of the territory within the geographical boundaries of the parish of
Tangipahoa that lies north of Louisiana Highway 40.
* * *

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 561 Original	2016 Regular Session	Pugh
THE COT ONGINAL		1 4511

Abstract: Includes the entirety of Tangipahoa Parish in the Zachary Taylor Parkway District.

<u>Present law</u> creates the Zachary Taylor Parkway District and commission composed of the parishes of Avoyelles, East Feliciana, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. Helena, Washington, and West Feliciana, together with that portion of Tangipahoa Parish that lies north of LA Highway 40.

Proposed law includes the entirety of Tangipahoa Parish.

(Amends R.S. 48:1801(3) and 1804(A))