BY SENATORS ALARIO, ALLAIN, APPEL, BISHOP, BOUDREAUX, BROWN, CARTER, CHABERT, CLAITOR, COLOMB, CORTEZ, DONAHUE, ERDEY, FANNIN, GATTI, HEWITT, JOHNS, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MARTINY, MILKOVICH, MILLS, MIZELL, MORRISH, PEACOCK, PERRY, PETERSON, RISER, GARY SMITH, JOHN SMITH, THOMPSON, WALSWORTH, WARD AND WHITE

A RESOLUTION

To commend former Senator David R. Heitmeier on being named the 2015 Optometrist of the Year by the American Optometric Association.

WHEREAS, Dr. Heitmeier served the residents of Louisiana State Senate District 7 as state senator and the residents of South Louisiana as a practicing optometrist; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Heitmeier was the first optometrist to be elected to the Louisiana State Senate; and

WHEREAS, as an honors graduate from the University of Houston College of Optometry, Dr. Heitmeier returned to Louisiana and founded Heitmeier & Armani Medical and Surgical Eye Care Center, the Nautical Optical Laboratory, and two charity eye care clinics that serve the residents of South Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, as a member of the Louisiana State Senate from 2012 to 2016, Dr. Heitmeier made health care and the providing and financing of healthcare services a top priority; and

WHEREAS, throughout his professional career, Dr. Heitmeier has represented his profession through active participation with the American Optometric Association and its Louisiana branch, the Optometry Association of Louisiana, and has been recognized for his service; and

WHEREAS, dedicated to promoting the importance of quality vision care, Dr. Heitmeier has championed InfantSEE Week in Louisiana, making it a resounding success, has served as a volunteer with the Special Olympics Opening Eyes Program, and has appeared as the voice and face of optometry in more than seven hundred television public

SR NO. 3 ENROLLED

service announcements raising awareness of glaucoma, InfantSEE, and the profession of optometry.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend former Senator David R. Heitmeier on being named the 2015 Optometrist of the Year by the American Optometric Association.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Dr. David R. Heitmeier, O.D.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE