The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Christine Arbo Peck.

DIGEST 2016 Regular Session

Barrow

<u>Present law</u> provides that membership of the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners shall include seven voting members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate to include:

- (1) Four members from a list of names submitted by the Louisiana State Medical Society. One of the members from a parish or municipality with less than twenty thousand people.
- (2) Two members submitted by the Louisiana Medical Association.

SB 429 Original

(3) One member submitted from the Louisiana Academy of Family Practice Physicians.

<u>Present law</u> provides that all voting members of the board must be graduate physicians or surgeons and practitioners.

<u>Present law</u> provides for the mechanism to fill vacancies and for removal of members and for terms of appointment.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that the board shall have seventeen members comprised of 16 physicians and one consumer. The physicians shall be from physician districts established as follows:

- (1) District One shall be comprised of the parishes of Jefferson and St. Tammany.
- (2) District Two shall be comprised of the parishes of Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard.
- (3) District Three shall be comprised of the parishes of Ascension, Assumption, Iberia, Iberville, Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Martin, St. Mary, Terrebonne, and West Baton Rouge.
- (4) District Four shall be comprised of the parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, and Webster.
- (5) District Five shall be comprised of the parishes of Caldwell, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union, West Carroll, and Winn.
- (6) District Six shall be comprised of the parishes of East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Livingston, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, Washington, and West Feliciana.
- (7) District Seven shall be comprised of the parishes of Acadia, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, and Vermilion.

(8) District Eight shall be comprised of the parishes of Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Catahoula, Concordia, Evangeline, Grant, LaSalle, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, St. Landry, and Vernon.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides the following specific qualifications for physicians to be eligible for appointment:

- (1) Be a resident of this state for not less than six months.
- (2) Be currently licensed and in good standing to engage in the practice of medicine in this state.
- (3) Be actively engaged in the practice of medicine in this state.
- (4) Have five years of experience in the practice of medicine in this state after licensure.
- (5) Shall not have been convicted of a felony.
- (6) Shall not have been placed on probation by the board.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for procedure for appointment, filling of vacancies, removal and duration of terms.

<u>Present law</u> provides that a quorum of the board is four members. <u>Proposed law</u> increases the quorum to nine members.

Effective August 1, 2016.

(Amends R.S. 37:1263 and 1267; repeals R.S. 37:1264 and 1265)