2016 Regular Session

HOUSE BILL NO. 853

BY REPRESENTATIVE ROBERT JOHNSON

PORTS/HARBORS/TERMINALS: Changes the composition of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission

1	AN ACT
2	To amend and reenact R.S. 34:1801, relative to the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission; to
3	provide for the membership of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission; and to
4	provide for related matters.
5	Notice of intention to introduce this Act has been published
6	as provided by Article III, Section 13 of the Constitution of
7	Louisiana.
8	Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana:
9	Section 1. R.S. 34:1801 is hereby amended and reenacted to read as follows:
10	§1801. Creation of Avoyelles Parish Port Commission
11	\underline{A} . There is hereby created a commission to be known as the Avoyelles
12	Parish Port Commission, which shall be composed of seven members who shall
13	serve without compensation and who shall be appointed as follows:
14	(a) Four commissioners appointed by the governing authority of the parish
15	of Avoyelles;
16	(b) Two commissioners shall be appointed by the governing authority of the
17	town of Simmesport;
18	(c) One commissioner shall be elected by the appointed commissioners at
19	their initial meeting.

Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

1	The commissioner initially elected by the appointed commissioners, and one
2	of the four commissioners initially appointed by the governing authority of the parish
3	of Avoyelles, and one of the two commissioners initially appointed by the governing
4	authority of the town of Simmesport, shall be appointed for a term of two years. One
5	of the four commissioners initially appointed by the governing authority of the parish
6	of Avoyelles, and one of the two commissioners initially appointed by the governing
7	authority of the town of Simmesport shall serve for four years; and the remaining
8	commissioners shall be appointed for a term of six years. Thereafter, the successors
9	to each of such commissioners shall be appointed for terms of six years. nine
10	members with one member domiciled in each police jury district who shall serve
11	without compensation and who shall be appointed, subject to Senate confirmation,
12	by the representative representing House District Twenty-Eight, the senator
13	representing Senate District Twenty-Eight, and the senator representing Senate
14	District Thirty-Two.
15	<u>B.</u> Any vacancy on the commission for any reason shall be filled in the same
16	manner as the original appointments and for the unexpired term of office. Each
17	commissioner shall be a citizen of the United States, and a qualified voter and a
18	taxpayer of the State of Louisiana.
19	Section 2. The commissioners of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission in office
20	on the effective date shall remain as commissioners until such time as appointments are
21	made pursuant to this Act.
22	Section 3. This Act shall become effective upon signature by the governor or, if not
23	signed by the governor, upon expiration of the time for bills to become law without signature
24	by the governor, as provided by Article III, Section 18 of the Constitution of Louisiana. If

- 25 vetoed by the governor and subsequently approved by the legislature, this Act shall become
- 26 effective on the day following such approval.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 853 Engrossed2016 Regular SessionRobert Johnson

Abstract: Modifies the composition of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission.

Present law creates the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission.

Proposed law retains present law.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission is composed of seven members who shall serve without compensation and who shall be appointed as follows:

- (1) Four commissioners appointed by the governing authority of the parish of Avoyelles.
- (2) Two commissioners appointed by the governing authority of the town of Simmesport.
- (3) One commissioner elected by the appointed commissioners at their initial meeting.

<u>Present law</u> provides that commissioners are appointed for terms of six years.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes <u>present law</u> and instead provides that the commission will be composed of nine members who shall serve without compensation and who shall be appointed, subject to Senate confirmation, by the representative representing House District 28, the senator representing Senate District 28, and the senator representing Senate District 32. Requires a person domiciled in each police jury district be appointed to the commission.

(Amends R.S. 34:1801)

Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

- The Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Transportation</u>, <u>Highways and Public Works</u> to the <u>original bill</u>:
- 1. Make technical changes.
- 2. Revert back to the original name of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission instead of the proposed change to Avoyelles Parish Port and Waterway Commission and remove the assignment provision
- 3. Clarify that the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission is composed of nine members with one member domiciled in each police jury district.
- 4. Add the senator representing Senate District 32 as a legislator designated to appoint members of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission.