## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 853 Engrossed

2016 Regular Session

Robert Johnson

**Abstract:** Modifies the composition of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission.

Present law creates the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission is composed of seven members who shall serve without compensation and who shall be appointed as follows:

- (1) Four commissioners appointed by the governing authority of the parish of Avoyelles.
- (2) Two commissioners appointed by the governing authority of the town of Simmesport.
- (3) One commissioner elected by the appointed commissioners at their initial meeting.

<u>Present law</u> provides that commissioners are appointed for terms of six years.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes <u>present law</u> and instead provides that the commission will be composed of nine members who shall serve without compensation and who shall be appointed, subject to Senate confirmation, by the representative representing House District 28, the senator representing Senate District 28, and the senator representing Senate District 32. Requires a person domiciled in each police jury district be appointed to the commission.

(Amends R.S. 34:1801)

## Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

The Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Transportation</u>, <u>Highways and Public Works</u> to the <u>original</u> bill:

- 1. Make technical changes.
- 2. Revert back to the original name of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission instead of the proposed change to Avoyelles Parish Port and Waterway Commission and remove the assignment provision

- 3. Clarify that the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission is composed of nine members with one member domiciled in each police jury district.
- 4. Add the senator representing Senate District 32 as a legislator designated to appoint members of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission.