2016 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 65

BY SENATORS THOMPSON, ALARIO, ALLAIN, APPEL, BARROW, BISHOP, BOUDREAUX, BROWN, CARTER, CHABERT, CLAITOR, COLOMB, CORTEZ, DONAHUE, ERDEY, FANNIN, GATTI, HEWITT, JOHNS, LAFLEUR, LAMBERT, LONG, LUNEAU, MARTINY, MILKOVICH, MILLS, MIZELL, MORRELL, MORRISH, PEACOCK, PERRY, PETERSON, RISER, GARY SMITH, JOHN SMITH, TARVER, WALSWORTH, WARD AND WHITE

A RESOLUTION

To designate April 18, 2016, as LSU AgCenter Day at the legislature.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Agricultural Center, known as the LSU AgCenter, is one of eight institutions within the LSU system; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the LSU AgCenter is to provide the people of Louisiana with research based educational information that can improve their lives and economic well-being; and

WHEREAS, the LSU AgCenter has offices in each of Louisiana's sixty-four parishes and has seventeen research stations across the state; and

WHEREAS, the LSU AgCenter aims to develop programs that promote the best use of natural resources, conserve and protect the environment, enhance the development of existing and new agricultural enterprises, and develop human and community resources; and

WHEREAS, the LSU AgCenter has played an integral role in the support of agricultural industries, the enhancement of the environment, and the improvement of the quality of life through its 4-H youth, family and consumer sciences, and community development programs; and

WHEREAS, the LSU AgCenter has one of the most active intellectual property programs in the country and ranks among the top research universities relative to return on investment dollar; and

WHEREAS, over fifty scientists in the LSU AgCenter have received patents or plant variety protection certificates.

SR NO. 65

ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby designate April 18, 2016, as LSU AgCenter Day at the legislature and does hereby commend the dedicated work and contributions of the LSU AgCenter faculty, staff, and students to the state of Louisiana and its citizens.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to LSU Vice President for Agriculture and Dean of the College of Agriculture, Dr. William B. Richardson.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE